Making a life mask…

Tonight Sarah and I made a life mask for her.  She had a great time and once it dries we can use it to make a positive of her face in plaster and then as a mold for a mask or prosthetic make up.  It took about 30 minutes and I might add that it was the quietest 30 minutes of the day. 🙂  The best way to do this is to use Alginate which is a dental mold compound.  I couldn’t get my hand on any without ordering it so we used mesh plaster cut into strips.   It doesn’t make as nice a negative as alginate but I could find any without ordering it.  I think we’ll do it again soon and perhaps construct a complete bust. 

mask1.JPG mask4.JPG

~ by SarahT on September 27, 2007.

3 Responses to “Making a life mask…”

  1. Cool. Will there be a photo of the finished product? I don’t think my kids would sit for that.

  2. Very cool. I will be doing face masks with my kids this thursday. I wonder if you might advise me on the best way to keep the plaster gauze from sticking to their eyebrows? Did you just use a thick coat of lubricant on the eyebrows? Also, if my seven year old elects to do her entire face, such as your daughter did, how will I protect her eye lashes? Let me know.

  3. Could you explain the technique you used. I want to make a life mask of my own face. Thanks

Leave a Reply

 
