The Salmonfly Hatch… June 2007

I was fornutate enough to catch the Salmonfly hatch for a few days on the Gallatin and an afternoon on the Madison.  It’s everything they claim it to be.  The Salmonfly is the largest of the stoneflies and when they hatch the trout go nuts.  Great fun and I can’t wait to do it again next year.  Here are a few photos of salmonflies. 

salmonfly1.jpg

Adult Salmonfly

stonefly1.jpg

Salmonfly Nymph

buggy.jpg

Junior Entomologist

~ by SarahT on July 16, 2007.

One Response to “The Salmonfly Hatch… June 2007”

  1. Those “flies” seem like something from a prehistoric world! Oh my. Sarah is a brave little girl. Of course, when I was little I loved bugs too. I don’t know what happened! I’m glad you all are having fun fishing! God bless!

Leave a Reply

 
